Jun B2 v Mitchelstown 2013-07-06 13:11:00

Jun B2 v Mitchelstown 

The Clyda JB2 team enjoyed a convincing semi-final win over Mitchelstown on Wed 3rd July at Shanballymore.  Just one game away from a title that has eluded Clyda since 2000, the team went about their task right from the throw-in.  The early exchanges were fast and furious as both teams sought to test each other out.  Oliver O'Hanlon had to leave the field early in the play but temporary blood-sub Sean O'Connor ensured that there was no let up in effort or intensity.  Strong Mitchelstown resistance made it difficult for Clyda to score but a strong run from Maurice O'Brien into the heart of the Mitchelstown defence resulted in Clyda's first point of the night.  O'Brien and O'Hanlon began to dominate the mid-field battle and Clyda started to win the lion's share of possession which they began to put to good use.  James Murphy, Christy Roche and Conor Crowley all chipped in with points over the course of the first half.  Daniel O'Callaghan struck early on for the first of two goals when he slotted home a sweet shot following a great pass from Darragh Walsh.  The move of the night came when Conor Crowley started a move deep inside his own half that saw five players move the ball quickly inside to O'Callaghan who duly rewarded the efforts of his teammates with a second goal.

The second half began in similar fashion with Clyda taking the fight to their opponents right from the off.  They continued to move the ball quickly and add to the scoreboard.  The introduction of fresh legs ensured that Clyda pressed all the way to the finish.  Ex-AIL star Billy Mulcahy made a compelling case for the introduction of Hawkeye to all levels of the GAA when he cannoned a shot of the inside of the upright that appeared to have crossed for a point.  But Clyda did not let this distract themselves from the job in hand and they eventually ran out winners on a score of 2 - 15 to 1 - 06.  They now look forward to the final against either Kilshanning or Ballyclough.

The team lined out as follows:

Cian Conway, Cathal Greene, Robert Walsh, Pa Forde (capt), Darragh Walsh, Ray Carey, William Cronin, Maurice O'Brien, Oliver O'Hanlon, Conor Crowley, Chris O'Connell, James Murphy, Tadhg O'Connor, Daniel O'Callaghan, Christy Roche

Subs used: Sean O'Connor, Billy Mulcahy, Donal Stack, Billy Dillon, Seamus Madden

Back to top