Clyda U16s just miss out against Kiskeam 2013-09-03 16:41:00

Clyda U16s just miss out against Kiskeam

Clyda Rovers 2-11 Kiskeam 2-14

Clyda Rovers made a brave effort to topple last year's U15 county champions, Kiskeam, in this highly entertaining U16 C Rebel Óg North football final played in Glantane last Saturday morning. Kiskeam were quickly into their stride with a point by Séan O'Sullivan after four minutes, followed by a point from Adrian Carroll. Kiskeam were then rocked back by a Clyda goal from William Cronin who fisted in a dropping ball delivered by Colin Kelly. Gareth O'Hanlon raced in from the wing to kick a good point before two O'Sullivan frees brought the sides level. Gareth O'Hanlon again raced through the Kiskeam defence and his dipping shot found the net over the despairing reach of the Kiskeam goalie. Clyda were now playing quite well and points from Conor Roche and a Colin Kelly free were followed by another point from Ronan Flanagan after a good run forward. Kiskeam continued to press though and only a couple of last ditch tackles from Mike Forde prevented certain goals while Tim Buckley and goalie Sean Kelly also had to be at their best as Kiskeam threatened. While Kiskeam dominated under the high ball, James Buckley worked very hard at midfield and won several balls that he had no right to. This together with good work from the half backs and half forwards provided Clyda with a good attacking platform. Colin Kelly, William Cronin and Gareth O'Hanlon added further scores with Kieran O'Connor and two O'Sullivan frees in reply for Kiskeam to leave the half-time score 2-08 to 0- 07 in favour of Clyda.

As anticipated, Kiskeam tore into the game on the resumption and Kieran O'Connor opened the scoring in the second half. Clyda worked the ball downfield and Colin Kelly kicked a reply. Over the next ten minutes Kiskeam gained a stranglehold on possession but the hard-working Clyda defence kept them at bay to a large extent with Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tim Buckley and Mark O'Sullivan kept very busy. Two further O'Sullivan points and a Conor O'Leary free closed the gap for Kiskeam but a Colin Kelly free kept the scoreboard ticking over for Clyda. Worryingly for Clyda, they could not seem to get their hands on the ball as key players seemed to be tiring rapidly and eventually the pressure began to tell. Adrian Carroll goaled for Kiskeam and another O'Sullivan point left just two between the sides. Clyda broke upfield following good work by Conor Roche and sub Matthew McAtee. Gavin Dennehy fielded well, turned his marker and unleashed a shot despite the attempt to haul him down. Slightly off-balance from the foul the shot carried over the bar when a goal or a penalty was a definite possibility. Kiskeam worked the ball upfield and scored a point and then the full-forward O'Sullivan cut in past 2 Clyda defenders before being pulled down by Mike Forde as he was about to score a goal. With the resultant penalty going narrowly wide Clyda took heart and launched another attack which ended with a controversial free-out when a Clyda free was expected. Immediately Kiskeam launched the ball forward to O'Sullivan who kicked a speculative effort under severe pressure from Tim Buckley by the end-line with Sean Kelly correctly stationed by his near-hand post to cut off any angle at goal. Heart-breakingly for Clyda the shot drifted under the cross-bar at the far-side to give Kiskeam a two point lead entering injury time. Clyda tried to respond but a final attack broke down and O'Sullivan kicked an insurance point to give Kiskeam victory by 2-14 to 2-11.

Clyda: Sean Kelly, Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tim Buckley, Mark O'Sullivan, Mike Forde, Ronan Flanagan, James Buckley, Colin Kelly, William Cronin, Garrett O'Hanlon, Gavin Dennehy, Conor Roche. Martin O'Connor, Matthew McEntee, Dylan Flanagan, Conor Pratt, Eamonn Doherty, Sean O'Shea. Selectors: Brian Flanagan, Billy Mulcahy.

Kiskeam: Darra Murphy, Darren O'Keeffe, Jack Collins, Kieran O'Connor, Adrian Carroll, William O'Keeffe, Jack O'Connor, Matthew Riordan Conor O'Leary, Sean Meehan, Maurice Casey, Sean O'Sullivan. Robert King Anthony Dennehy, Pat O'Keeffe, Luke O'Connor.

Back to top