Minor Hurling Championship Final 2013-09-11 10:01:00

Clyda Rovers Minor hurlers had a mighty win over Kildorrery in Ballyhooley last Tuesday evening in the championship final, winning on a score line of 3-17 to 3-13. This game was won by a shear team performance, with each player stepping up to the plate to ensure a victory. Clyda got off to the better start and went into a six point to one point lead, Clyda scores coming from Conor Crowley, Darragh Meaney and Conor Roche. Kildorrery hit a purple patch after this and with a combination of frees and points levelled the game, six points each. Both sides then traded points, followed by a point from Clyda's Seamus Ronayne giving Clyda a one point advantage. Kildorrery then got a goal, giving them the lead for the first time in the game, 1-7 to 0-8. Both sides then traded points, before Darragh Meaney got Clydas first goal of the game, followed by a Colin Kelly point. Kildorrery got the last score of the first half, leaving the bare minimum between the sides at the short whistle, 1-10 to 1-9 to Clyda. Kildorrery got the opening score of the second half to level the game but Clyda dominated the game for most of the second half, scores coming from two Colin Kelly goals and points from Conor Roche, Seamus Ronayne and Conor Crowley, taking Clyda to a 2-17 to 1-10 lead. Kildorrery got their second point of the half, before Colin Kelly's second goal looked like sealing the game on a score line of 3-17 to 1-11. Kildorrery were not ready to give up yet though and in the dying minutes of the game added 2-2 to their tally. Clyda had done enough though and had four points to spare at the final whistle. The Clyda forwards were not the only players working hard on the night. The Clyda back line fought hard to keep their lines clear, with great defensive play from Darragh Walsh, Sean O Connor and Chris Fitzpatrick. Clyda's Captain Sean O Connor was presented with the cup by Don Forde. In his speech Sean thanked Padraic O Mullane, Dan O Sullivan, Thomas Harold, Tadhg O Connor, Niall Crowley and Barty o Connor for their time and effort all year. Next up for the hurlers is the first round of the County .

Back to top