Minors Do The Double 2013-09-24 17:22:00

It has been a busy few weeks for the minor hurlers and footballers of Clyda. In a repeat of the minor hurling championship final, which Clyda won a few weeks ago, the opposition was Kildorrery again in the minor football championship final. From the off Clyda dominated this encounter and with a great team effort pulled off a great win on a final scoreline of 1-16 to 1-6. The opening three points of the game came from Clyda's Colin Kelly coming from great movement up the field. Kildorrery then opened their account, before Seamus Ronayne replied with a point for Clyda. Kildorrery then scored a goal to level the game for the one and only time during the match. Soon after though Clyda's Seamus Ronayne netted a goal at the other end , giving Clyda a three point advantage . Colin Kelly then put over a well taken free, leaving it 1-5 to 1-1. Kildorreys last score of the first half then followed, with Clyda adding on a further four points to their tally, leaving the score 1-9 to 1-2 at the short whistle. Clyda's Conor Roche opened the scoring in the second half with a pointed free, followed by a Kildorrery point. Clyda pulled away from here on in, with a combination of good movement of ball, intelligent passing and super defending from Darragh Walsh, Chris Fitzpatrick, Ronan Flanagan, Sean O Connor James Buckley and goalie Gearoid O Shea. Further second half Clyda scores came from Seamus Ronayne, Colin Kelly, a superb point from Tim Buckley following a solo run down field and well taken points and frees from team captain Conor Crowley. The end result never really looked in doubt and Clyda ran out deserving winners. Clyda's Conor Crowley accepted the cup and in his speech thanked Ballyhooley Gaa, Kildorrery for a good sporting game, referee Michael Casey and Clyda mentors Tadhg O Connor, Niall Crowley, Barty O Connor and Diarmuid O Shea for all their work during the year. TEAM: Gearoid O Shea, Darragh Walsh, Chris Fitzpatrick, Ronan Flanagan, Sean O Connor, James Buckley, Conor Crowley, Tim Buckley, Darragh Meaney, Colin Kelly, Conor Roche, Seamus Ronayne. SUBS: David O Shea, Mark Daly, Shane O Hanlon, John Martin O Hanlon, Gavin Dennehy, Mike Forde, Mark O Sullivan.

Back to top