Clyda Rovers 2013 AGM 2013-12-17 14:24:00

Clyda Rovers Gaa held their AGM in the Castlebarrett Room last Saturday evening. A large crowd was in attendance to hear very comprehensive reports from out going Secretary and treasurer Jimmy McGlinchey. Aisling opened proceedings with an in depth report into what has been a historical year for the club. Success ranged from the Minors winning both hurling and football finals, the u21 hurlers winning back to back North Cork Championship Finals, the Junior B footballers winning the North Cork Championship and of course the Premier Intermediate Footballers winning the County and Munster Finals. There was a minutes silence for deceased members during the year, John Hegarty, President Joe Walsh, Jackie O Sullivan, Jerry O Mahoney, and Paul Kelleher. A speedy recovery was wished to Ladies Football Chairman Donie Fitzpatrick

Best wishes also went to Paudie Kissane on his retirement from Inter County play and good wishes on his new job with the Clare Football Team. Physio Caroline Coughlan was thanked for all her work with the club, as was Billy Mulcahy for his work with the local schools. Treasurer Jimmy McGlinchey gave his report on the clubs finances. With Clyda's success there was been a major draw on club resources. Heading into the All Ireland Semi Final on the weekend of the 25th January it had become necessary for the club to run a fund raiser. To this end a night at the Cork Greyhound Track is taking place on Saturday 18th January. Tickets will be  distributed shortly and it is vital that each member contributes to the cause to make it a success. Jimmy also pointed out the importance of membership to the club and how important it is to the club that everyone pays their membership. The lotto is also the back bone of the clubs finances and he thanked all the lotto sellers for their work with same. The three local pubs were also thanked for their support to the lotto. The Golf Classic is one of the clubs main fundraisers and John and Catherine Roche and committee were thanked for their work with same, as was Fergal Cronin for his work with the County draw. Derry and Doreen Murphy were thanked for their continued contribution to the club, as was Vincent Twomey for his sponsorship of club jerseys. Chairman Jeremiah Ronayne reiterated all that was said . He thanked the people of Mourneabbey for their unwavering support and commended Noel Walsh and the pitch committee for all their great work. He praised past mentors for all they had brought o the table in making the club the success it is today. Jeremiah also thanked coach Ned English for all he had brought to the club in the last year. Jeremiah thanked his fellow committee members for all their work during the year and wished the club all the best in their All Ireland campaign and in 2014.

Liam Madden and Noel Walsh then briefed the Meeting on behalf of the community council about the possibility of the land purchase going through and their plans for it.

A vote was then taken and the Clubman of the year was John Walsh and Player of the year Fionn O Shea. The following officers and mentors were then elected for 2014


Club President John Looney thanked everyone involved with the club in any way for all their work and dedication. There then followed the election of officers by the community council Chairman Liam Madden. Chairman  Jeremiah Ronayne, Vice Chairman Donie Mulcahy, Secretary Aisling Murphy, Treasurer Jimmy McGlinchey, Pro Carmel O Connor, President John Looney, Vice Presidents: Derry Murphy, Eddie Walsh, Tom Murphy, Stephen Cronin, Paddy O Callaghan, Dan O Sullivan (Ballyknockin), James Coakley, Maura O Hanlon, Michael O Sullivan ( Abbeyswell), William Cronin, Tom Dorgan, Denis Cronin

Social Media Liam Cronin, Cultural Officer Noreen Twomey.

Senior Football: Coach: Ned English Manager: John Walsh Selectors: Jerry O Sullivan, Vincent Twomey, Cormac O Sullivan Logistics Brian Flanagan, Video Analysis Noel Walsh

Junior A Hurling: Selectors Con O Sullivan, John Buckley, Tadgh O Mullane, Dermot Meaney

Junior Football: Coach Derry Cronin, Manager  Liam Cronin, Selectors Donie Mulcahy, Tom Walsh, Dan Joe Browne, Mick o Shea.

U21 Football: Coach Fergal Dorgan Manager Tadgh O Connor Selectors: Derek O Brien, Noel Walsh , Jer Ronayne.

U21 Hurling: Coach: Tadgh O Mullane Selectors Fergal Cronin, Liam Madden, John Roche, Robert Walsh

Minor Football: Coach Tadgh O Connor Selectors Billy Mulcahy, Joan Fitzpatrick, Don Forde, Derek O Brien

Minor Hurling Coach Padhraic O Mullane Selectors Tom Harold, Dan O Sullivan, Paddy Buckley,

Back to top