CLYDA ROVERS 2014 GOLF CLASSIC 2014-06-03 09:09:00

Clyda Rovers GAA Club held it's annual Golf Classic Thursday 29th and Friday 30th June in what were yet again ideal weather conditions. Now in its 18th year, the event was once again a resounding success and this is down to a lot of hard work and support both within and outside the club. Present on the night for the prize giving were the very elegantly attired main sponsors Derry and Doreen Murphy of the Railway Bar, who have provided immense support both financially and work wise to the classic over the years. 

 Derry in his speech thanked Mallow Golf Club Captain Eamonn O Connell for the use of the course and the clubs support over the years. Derry also welcomed Mourneabbey and Cork ladies football players Ciara, Roisin and Doireann O Sullivan and Cian O Sullivan Clyda Rovers and Cork U21 Football player along for the presentations. 

Mallow Golf Captain Eamon O Connell thanked Clyda for their support over the years. He congratulated the club on its recent success and wished them all the best in 2014.

Clyda Rovers Chairman Jeremiah Ronayne said the classic was once again a great success and thanked the local businesses for their continued support and sponsorship of the event. He said there were some great scores on the day and this was down to the pristine condition of the course. Jeremiah also said how important a fund raiser the classic is for the club and how it has turned into a great social event for the club, with people meeting up year after year to part take in the classic. Jeremiah praised the organising committee, in particular John and Catherine Roche, who have worked tirelessly each year to make the day the success it is. 

John Roche in his speech thanked everybody who helped in anyway, especially his wife Catherine and Carmel Conroy. He thanked Derry and Doreen Murphy for their major contribution to the sponsorship and help. John thanked all the teams for taking part. He also thanked the tee box sponsors and is looking forward to their continued support in the future. He thanked all the staff of Mallow Golf Club, from the bar and catering staff to Patrick O Leary and the course team for the great course condition. A special presentation was made on the night to Conor Roche son of John and Catherine for his success with the Mallow Golf Team in Spain earlier in the year.

The evening concluded with the presentation of the prizes.





CLUB PRIZE: Sean O Connor, Seamus Madden, David O Shea.

10th PRIZE: Spirofeed: Eileen Caplice, John Liston, PJ O'Sullivan.

9th PRIZE: Neily O Flynn, Padraig Breen, Donnacha Moynihan.

8th PRIZE: Vision ID: Andy Daly, Denis Conway, Campbell McIntosh.

7th PRIZE: Michael Madden, Paul Crowley, M Moloney.

6th PRIZE: Tony Conroy, Carmel Conroy, Breda Dwyer.

5th PRIZE: Cork Racecourse Mallow: Mick Farrell, Mick O Neill, Denis Fitzgerald.

4th PRIZE: Michael Stack, Eamonn Gardner, Tom Dineen.

3rd PRIZE: Bottlehill Golf Society: Tim Twomey, Eamonn Connolly, Matthew Geaney.

2nd PRIZE: Dan Stack - Team B: Declan Roche, Conor Roche, Hugo Hegarty.

1st Prize: Twomey Industrial Services: (Winners for 2nd Year running) Vincent Twomey, Seamus O Callaghan, Timmy O Callaghan.



1st PRIZE: Carmel Conroy Mourneabbey. 2nd PRIZE: Bert Murphy, Grenagh. 3rd PRIZE: Dan O Connell. 4th PRIZE: Denis Murphy Albert Lynch's Bar.

Back to top